Past winners of the Queen Mother Champion Two Mile Steeple Chase

Sports News
Sporting Chronicle

Horse Racing

Queen Mother Champion Chase

Photograph of One Man Winning the Champion Chase
One Man
Photograph of Flagship Uberalles winning the Game Spirit Chase at Newbury
Flagship Uberalles

About the Queen Mother Champion Chase
The Queen Mother Champion Chase is a Grade 1 race run at Cheltenham Racecourse in Gloucestershire, England. It is run every year at Cheltenham′s National Hunt Festival. The race distance of the Queen Mother Champion Chase is two miles and there are twelve fences to be jumped.

This race is regarded as the Championship of the top two mile steeplechaser′s.

There isn′t time for any messing about in this one, two miles over Cheltenham′s big fences in around four minutes at 30mph. One mistake and your chance is gone.

These are the real speed kings, fair enough they go quick in the Champion Hurdle but a Champion Chaser really has to operate, not only galloping but also jumping steeplechase fences - FAST!

The Queen Mother Champion Chase has been won by some real good horses over the years. A number of horses have won the race on more than one occasion including Badsworth Boy who won three times, Fortria twice, Drinny′s Double twice, Royal Relief twice, Skymas twice, Hilly Way twice, Pearlyman twice, Barnbrook Again twice, Viking Flagship twice and Moscow Flyer twice.

There have been some marvellous horses though who only won the Champion Chase once. Take Flyingbolt in 1966 as an example, the very day after winning the Champion Chase by fifteen lengths he ran in the Champion Hurdle and finished third to Salmon Spray beaten only three and three quarter lengths. Flyingbolt ended the 1966 National Hunt season with a win in the three mile five furlong Irish Grand National under 12 stone 7lb. A very versatile horse who was one of the highest rated chasers of all-time.

My Personal Experience of The Queen Mother Champion Chase
Whilst I worked for David Nicholson I was lucky enough to look after Viking Flagship, this was in the 1994/95 National Hunt season. I lead him up when he won the 1995 Queen Mother Champion Chase when ridden by Charlie Swan. We had a good day with two other winners besides, Putty Road in the Sun Alliance Novices Hurdle ridden by Norman Williamson and Kadi in the Mildmay Of Flete Challenge Cup Handicap Chase also ridden by Norman Williamson.

Another Champion Chase connection that I have (albeit a very small one) is from when I was kid and still at school. I used to go riding out with ex-jockey Roy "RF" Davies at Willie Jenks yard near Bridgnorth, Shropshire. Roy was a popular Midlands based rider who rode the best part of two hundred winners in the 1970′s and early 80′s and won good races on horses such as Casbah, Milliondollarman and Jo Colombo. Anyhow getting back to the story, we were in the string of horses walking to the gallop fields and I remember the horse I was riding was a horse called Pearly King. Roy was upsides me on a young horse that he had ridden a couple of times over hurdles, finishing second on once at Stratford on Avon Racecourse. It was a half brother to the horse that I was on and I can recall Roy telling me "This is the best horse I have ever ridden!" That horse was Pearlyman who went on to win the Champion Chase in 1987 and 1988 when trained by John Edwards.

Finally, my third Champion Chase link was when I worked for Captain Forster in the 1995/96 National Hunt season. The very first morning that I started working for him my first lot (only doing roadwork) was Martha′s Son who went on and won the 1997 Queen Mother Champion Chase. At least I can say I′ve ridden two different winners of the Champion Chase!

Sporting Chronicle is written by Richard Bevan

You may be interested in winners of the Arkle Chase, Tingle Creek Chase or the Victor Chandler Handicap Chase

Queen Mother Champion Chase Winners

* Another Dolly finished second to Chinrullah, who was subsequently disqualified after failing a post-race urine test

2008 Master Minded P F Nicholls R Walsh
2007 Voy Por Ustedes A King Robert Thornton
2006 Newmill John Joseph Murphy Andrew J McNamara
2005 Moscow Flyer Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
2004 Azertyuiop Paul Nicholls Ruby Walsh
2003 Moscow Flyer Jessica Harrington Barry Geraghty
2002 Flagship Uberalles Philip Hobbs Richard Johnson
2001 Not Held Not Held Foot and Mouth Epidemic
2000 Edredon Bleu Henrietta Knight Tony McCoy
1999 Call Equiname Paul Nicholls Mick Fitzgerald
1998 One Man Gordon Richards Brian Harding
1997 Marthas Son Tim Forster Rodney Farrant
1996 Klairon Davis Arthur Moore Francis Woods
1995 Viking Flagship David Nicholson Charlie Swan
1994 Viking Flagship David Nicholson Adrian Maguire
1993 Deep Sensation Josh Gifford Declan Murphy
1992 Remittance Man Nicky Henderson Jamie Osborne
1991 Katabatic Andrew Turnell Simon McNeill
1990 Barnbrook Again David Elsworth Hywel Davies
1989 Barnbrook Again David Elsworth Simon Sherwood
1988 Pearlyman John Edwards Tom Morgan
1987 Pearlyman John Edwards Peter Scudamore
1986 Buck House Mouse Morris Tommy Carmody
1985 Badsworth Boy Monica Dickinson Robert Earnshaw
1984 Badsworth Boy Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw
1983 Badsworth Boy Michael Dickinson Robert Earnshaw
1982 Rathgorman Michael Dickinson Kevin Whyte
1981 Drumgora Arthur Moore Frank Berry
1980 Another Dolly* Fred Rimell Sam Morshead
1979 Hilly Way Peter McCreery Mr Ted Walsh
1978 Hilly Way Peter McCreery Tommy Carmody
1977 Skymas Brian Lusk Mouse Morris
1976 Skymas Brian Lusk Mouse Morris
1975 Lough Inagh Jim Dreaper Sean Barker
1974 Royal Relief Edward Courage Bill Smith
1973 Inkslinger Dan Moore Tommy Carberry
1972 Royal Relief Edward Courage Bill Smith
1971 Crisp Fred Winter Paul Kelleway
1970 Straight Fort Tom Dreaper Pat Taaffe
1969 Muir Tom Dreaper Ben Hannon
1968 Drinnys Double Bob Turnell Frank Nash
1967 Drinnys Double Bob Turnell Frank Nash
1966 Flyingbolt Tom Dreaper Pat Taaffe
1965 Dunkirk Peter Cazalet Dave Dick
1964 Ben Stack Tom Dreaper Pat Taaffe
1963 Sandy Abbot George Owen Stan Mellor
1962 Piperton Archie Thomlinson Dave Dick
1961 Fortria Tom Dreaper Pat Taaffe
1960 Fortria Tom Dreaper Pat Taaffe
1959 Quita Que Dan Moore Bunny Cox

NFL Football
PGA Golf
MLB Baseball
Horse Racing
F1 Motorsport