Triple Crown Winners U.S. Thoroughbred Racehorses

United States Triple Crown Winners

Horses which have won The Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes and Belmont Stakes in the same season are awarded The Triple Crown Trophy which was commissioned in 1950 by The Thoroughbred Racing Associations.

American Pharoah ridden by jockey Victor Espinoza celebrating after crossing the finish line to win the Triple Crown at Belmont on June 6, 2015

Date Horse Owner Trainer Jockey
2015 American Pharoah (USA) Zayat Stables LLC Bob Baffert Victor Espinoza
1978 Affirmed Harbor View Farm Lazaro Barrera Steve Cauthen
1977 Seattle Slew Karen L.Taylor William Turner Jnr. Jean Cruguet
1973 Secretariat Meadow Stable Lucien Laurin Ron Turcotte
1948 Citation Calumet Farm H.A. “Jimmy” Jones Eddie Arcaro
1946 Assault King Ranch Max Hirsch Warren Mehrtens
1943 Count Fleet Mrs John D.Hertz Don Cameron John Longden
1941 Whirlaway Calumet Farm Ben A.Jones Eddie Arcaro
1937 War Admiral Samuel D.Riddle George Conway Charles Kurtsinger
1935 Omaha Belair Stud James Fitzsimmons William Saunders
1930 Gallant Fox Belair Stud James Fitzsimmons Earl Sande
1919 Sir Barton J.K.L.Ross H.Guy Bedswell John Loftus